BPO Converga acquires Speedscan

NZ Post subsidiary Converga has acquired of Speedscan Group Holdings to extend its reach in its core markets in Australia, New Zealand, the United States and Philippines.

According to Converga chief executive Brian Roberts, “Speedscan's breakthrough technologies and business solutions not only strengthen our customer base, they bring broader expertise that will open up new opportunities in new industries for the combined Group.

"The rising trend in both the public and private sectors to find new ways to increase productivity is leading to an expanding role for business process outsourcing (BPO)," Mr Roberts added.

Speedscan is expected to enhance and expanding Converga’s workflow and document management capabilities.

"Converga continues to successfully grow, realign and innovate. We have made a series of strategic investments in the past four years including investing in leading edge document automation technology and expanding our operations into Asia and the USA. This has enabled us to transform paper processes to digital, increasing processing capacity which has firmly established us as a leader in business process outsourcing.

"The acquisition enables both companies to build on their strengths to the ultimate benefit of their customers and their people," said Speedscan chief executive, Mark Josman, who will remain with the merged operation.

“I think there is increasing complexity and there’s increasing reliance on BPOs of scale and robustness, and so as that trend continues and large organisations outsource more and more mission critical processes, they’re looking for larger and more complex solutions from larger and more complex participants.

“Our combined groups will see over 1,350 people across those locations and annual revenue over $A100 million.”

Founded in 1994, Converga specialises in Business Process Outsourcing with a focus on paper to digital document conversion.

The Speedscan Group was founded in 1997, and today incorporates businesses in Sydney, Melbourne, Manila, Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.